About this item:

339 Views | 395 Downloads

Author Notes:

Email: Sushma Komakula - skomaku@emory.edu; Sumita Khatri - skhatri@metrohealth.org; Joel Mermis - jmermis@learnlink.emory.edu; Samira Savill - samira.savill@gmail.com; Shireen Haque - shaque2@learnlink.emory.edu; Mauricio Rojas - mrojas@emory.edu; LouAnn.Brown@oz.ped.emory.edu; Gerald W Teague - Gerald.Teague@oz.ped.emory.edu; Fernando Holguin: fch5@cdc.gov

We would like to thank Dr. Roland H. Ingram Jr. for his critical input in developing this manuscript.

Dr. Holguin has a grant from Critical Therapeutics.

Subjects:

Keywords:

  • Science & Technology
  • Life Sciences & Biomedicine
  • Respiratory System
  • RESPIRATORY SYSTEM
  • OXIDATIVE STRESS
  • AIRWAY INFLAMMATION
  • NATIONAL-HEALTH
  • OBESITY
  • LEPTIN
  • ADIPONECTIN
  • WOMEN
  • SEVERITY
  • CHILDREN
  • MEN

Body mass index is associated with reduced exhaled nitric oxide and higher exhaled 8-isoprostanes in asthmatics

Tools:

Journal Title:

Respiratory Research

Volume:

Volume 8, Number 1

Publisher:

, Pages 32-32

Type of Work:

Article | Final Publisher PDF

Abstract:

Background: Recently, it has been shown that increasing body mass index (BMI) in asthma is associated with reduced exhaled NO. Our objective in this study was to determine if the BMI-related changes in exhaled NO differ across asthmatics and controls, and to determine if these changes are related to increased airway oxidative stress and systemic levels of leptin and adiponectin.Methods: Observational study of the association of BMI, leptin, and adiponectin with exhaled nitric oxide (NO) and exhaled 8-isoprostanes in 67 non-smoking patients with moderate to severe persistent asthma during baseline conditions and 47 controls. Measurements included plasma levels of leptin, adiponectin, exhaled breath condensates for 8-isoprostanes, exhaled NO, pulmonary function tests, and questionnaires regarding asthma severity and control.Results: In asthmatics, BMI and the ratio of leptin to adiponectin were respectively associated with reduced levels of exhaled NO (β = -0.04 [95% C.I. -0.07, -0.1], p < 0.003) and (β = -0.0018 [95% C.I. -0.003, -0.00034], p = 0.01) after adjusting for confounders. Also, BMI was associated with increased levels of exhaled 8-isoprostanes (β = 0.30 [95% C.I. 0.003, 0.6], p = 0.03) after adjusting for confounders. In contrast, we did not observe these associations in the control group of healthy non-asthmatics with a similar weight distribution.Conclusion: In adults with stable moderate to severe persistent asthma, but not in controls, BMI and the plasma ratio of leptin/adiponectin is associated with reduced exhaled NO. Also, BMI is associated with increased exhaled 8-isoprostanes. These results suggest that BMI in asthmatics may increase airway oxidative stress and could explain the BMI-related reductions in exhaled NO. © 2007 Komakula et al; licensee BioMed Central Ltd.

Copyright information:

© 2007 Komakula et al; licensee BioMed Central Ltd.

This is an Open Access work distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic License (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/).

Creative Commons License

Export to EndNote